Parent Teacher Organization (PTO)

The PTO at Ann Smith Elementary is dedicated to making our school a great place to be. During the transition from the last school year to the next, we are searching for volunteers. You may want to commit to an entire year of service as a project chairman or board member. Or, you may prefer to volunteer a couple of hours, here and there. Whatever you can do, however you can help, we want to match you with the volunteer opportunity perfect for you. If you have a particular interest,  you can email Trynese Small at

There are 4 ways you can stay connected to the ASE PTO!
* Send an email to You can leave the subject line blank.
* To unsubscribe, reply with unsubscribe in the subject line.
* Text @asmithpto to 81010  or  @asmithpto to 502-694-1142
* You can opt-out at anytime by replying 'unsubribe@asmithpto
* Like us at Ann Smith Elementary PTO.
* We will be sending home flyers in your child's folder.

2016-2017 PTO Board Members

Trenyse Small 
The president will preside over meetings of the organization and Board, serve as the primary contacts for the principal, represent the organization at meetings outside the organization, serve as an ex-officio member of all committees except the nominating committee and coordinate the work of all the officers and committees in order that the purpose of the organization be served.

Executive Vice President:
Evelyn Williams
The executive vice president will assist the president and carry out the co-president's duties in her absence or inability to serve.

Rose McGee
The treasurer will receive all funds of the organization, keep an accurate record of receipts and expenditures, and pay out funds in accordance with the approval of the Board. She will present a financial statement at every meeting and at other times of the year when requested by the Board, and make a full report at the end of the year.

VPs of Parental Relations: 
Amanda Helmintoller and Meghan Universal
The vice president of parental relations will have primary responsibility for matters relating to parental relations such as directory/membership, room mothers, kindergarten coordinator, first-grade coordinator, second-grade coordinator and volunteer coordinator.

VPs of Fundraising:
Megan de Jong and Cathy Beasley
The vice presidents of fundraising will have primary responsibility for matters relating to fundraising activities approved by the Board.

VPs of Academic Affairs:
Maya Ortiz and Brittney Seago
The vice president of academic affairs will have primary responsibility for matters relating to academic affairs such as business partners, teacher appreciation, volunteer reading programs, accelerated reader, book fair, health and Super Titans.

April Majors
The secretary will keep all records of the organization, take and record minutes, prepare the agenda, handle correspondence, and send notices of meetings to the membership. The secretary also will keep a copy of the minutes book, by-laws, rules, membership roster and any other necessary supplies, and bring them to meetings.

Co-VPs of Public Relations:
Erica Johnson and Suzanne Pierce
The vice presidents of public relations will have primary responsibility for matters relating to public relations such as school spirit, publicity, yearbook, newsletter, grounds, marquee and website.
Co- VPs of Health and Wellness:
Paul Tate, Tangela Shelton, and Chris McGee
The vice presidents of health and wellness will have primary responsibility for matters relating to the students' health and wellness including Titan Tone Up events. 

PTO Documents

11 Sep 2008 – Member Resolutions – Approved at April 10, 2008, meeting - Click here to access the member resolutions approved at the April 10 meeting of the Ann Smith Elementary PTO. The resolutions were designed to move the assets, checking account and employee identification number from the unincorporated association to the new non-profit corporation. The resolutions also serve to adopt new by-laws of the association and permit the board to complete the process of becoming a tax-exempt, non-profit organization with the federal and state governments.

11 Sep 2008 – Bylaws – Approved at April 10, 2008, meeting – Click here to view the by-laws for the Ann Smith Elementary PTO (Mississippi non-profit corporation). The by-laws were approved on April 10, 2008.

3 Apr 2008 – Incorporation – Click here to access the papers filed with the Mississippi Secretary of State to form Ann Smith Elementary PTO, a Mississippi non-profit corporation. This filing is the initial step in becoming a tax-exempt, non-profit organization.